Idaho GOP lawmakers vote to keep leadership the same

Secret balloting on Wednesday evening resulted in Idaho Republicans sticking with the same legislative leaders for the next two years.

House Speaker Scott Bedke and Majority Leader Mike Moyle didn’t face rivals. However, Assistant Majority Leader Brent Crane and Majority Caucus Chairman John Vander Woude held off challenges yet again. Meanwhile, Senate Republicans stuck with existing leaders. This included keeping Brent Hill as President Pro Tem and Bart Davis as Majority Leader.

Senate Minority Leader Michelle Stennett, a Democrat from Ketchum, and Senate Assistant Minority Leader Cherie Buckner-Webb kept their seats. However, Sen. Maryanne Jordan, a Democrat from Boise, replaced Sen. Grant Burgoyne for Senate minority caucus chair. For House Democrats, Rep. Mat Erpedling, a Democrat from Boise, will be the new minority leader after Rep. John Rusche failed to win his bid for re-election earlier this month.